RTYC Win Carmela Cup 2015


Six teams entered the 2015 RYA Two Boat Keelboat Team Racing Open Championship for the Royal Thames Carmela Cup which took place on 17th and 18th January.

This years’ event had several match racings entering most notably with Ian Williams entering to get some race practice in ahead of the Monsoon Cup.

Team Helms
Plymouth Jack Fenwick & Dan Wray
SMVC Tom Mallindine & Mark Lees
West Kirby Matt Shepherd & Leo Dixon
Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club Griogair Whyte & Nicole Johnson
Serpentine Henry Arnold & Ian Williams
Royal Thames Yacht Club Sam Littlejohn & Tom Hebbert
PRO David Arnold and his team rattled through the schedule and completed two round robins. The top four teams went through to the semi-finals with RTYC defeating West Kirby and Serpentine defeating SMVC – both winning 2:0.

The petit final between West Kirby and SMVC was eventually won 2:1 by SMVC with the final leeward mark leading to the issuing of several umpire flags.

Serpentine won the first race of the final and thought that they had won the second race only to be told that they had failed to complete a penalty turn thus allowing RTYC to level the final and take it through to the final race.


The final race went down to the wire with all four boats converging onto the finish line. The ensuing melee also resulted in a number of umpire flags following several collisions. Serpentine thought that they had won however, a protest committee was needed to resolve the matter which – after deliberating for over an hour penalised Serpentine 1 point following the collision. This meant that the score was 1:1 in race committee had to revert to the rule book to settle the tie. RTYC had won more races throughout the regatta 12:11 compared to Serpentine and were thus awarded the 2015 Carmela Cup.

Thanks to all the teams, to the umpires and race officers for two days of excellent team racing.