Masters Team Racing Cup Report - 20th March


Eight teams of Masters and eight (ex) RTYC Academicians/BA Cup members assembled at Queen Mary reservoir for the inaugural qualifying heat of the Masters Random Pairs Team Racing Cup.

The format is similar to the Mum’s Bucket in that each boat is paired randomly with and against all the other boats in 2 vs 2 team racing format. One’s “enemy” in one round becomes your “friend” in the next. The results are based on how many wins each team obtains.

For this event each team was allocated an experienced young RTYC team racer from the ranks of the Academy or BA Cup team. This enabled the Masters to gain valuable learning experience at the same time as increasing the competitiveness of the team racing.

Conditions were near ideal with a 10-14 knot breeze and the Race Team, led by Linda Pennington supported by Jenny Woods and Peter Schroeder, managed to fit in 20 races despite the shifting north easterly. The umpire team was led by Brian Smith supported by Bill Wyatt and Tom Hebbert. They had their work cut out with the number of on the water protests due to the closeness of the racing.

The result after 10 races for each team was a win for Iain Macdonald-Smith supported by James Stableford. Using count back Gregor Logan crewed by Ian Handley came second as he also had eight wins out of 10. Three teams vied for 3rd place: Doug Leacy crewed by Ruth Coll came third after count back followed by Richard Hill crewed by the CSO coming 4th and Doug Harkham crewed by Josselyn Herjean in 5th. William Edwards, crewed by Alison Copeland, was 6th, Angus Prentice crewed by Thomas Brennan was 7th and Bernard Kinchin crewed by Mike Halstead came 8th.

As a result the top four teams win a place at the final on 18th of September and the remaining four are welcome to compete in the final heat on 24th April.

The spread of points belied the closeness of the racing with many races determined in the last yards before the line.

A special thanks goes to the tacticians on each boat who gave up a day of their time to support the Club’s activities: Will Reid, Ben Gratton, Georgina Tapp, Ali Hind, Greg Hall, Henry Arnold, Tom Hebbert, Phil Derry and Duncan Yeabsley. Also thanks go to Gregor Logan as team manager and Mike Halstead for arranging for all the tacticians to come along.

The next heat takes place on Sunday 24th April so if any member over 45 (40 for crew) years of age would like to take part please notify the Sailing Office All entries from this heat are also welcomed as the opportunity to learn as well as compete is invaluable.