RTYC Academy and Masters Win Millennium Bowl


A team consisting of 6 members of the RTYC Academy, ably crewed by 6 of the Masters were triumphant at the Millennium Bowl over the weekend. 
The biennial triangular team racing event between the Royal Thames Y C, the Royal Northern & Clyde YC and the Royal St George YC was held in 1720s, hosted by the Royal St George Yacht Club. 
Saturday dawned with a 10 knots easterly breeze and sunshine, albeit being rather cold. After 2 round robins, RTYC was in the lead having narrowly lost one race to the Royal Northern and Clyde after a bad start, but managing to overcome Royal St George in two races. In the afternoon, the wind picked up and umpiring decisions started to make a difference. However, the Thames again managed to beat the Royal St George and only losing one very close race to Royal Northern and Clyde. The day ended after 4 rounds, with the Thames leading on 6 wins, followed by Royal Northern and Clyde on 4 wins and the Royal St George on 2. 
As expected from the forecast, the wind freshened overnight and sea state worsened. The decision was made early on Sunday morning to cancel racing for the day meaning that RTYC emerged as the overall winners. 
The Millennium Bowl is a magnificent silver trophy presented originally in 1902 to RTYC by the German Emperor. It lives in the trophy room at RTYC, please feel free to take a look!
RTYC Academy: Claire Lasko, Ben Gratton, Fiona Hampshire, Becky Cross, Lilly Carlise, Josh Flack. RTYC Masters: Angus Prentice, Chris Griffths, Mike Probert, William Edwards, Henry Woods, Richard Hill. Thanks go to Claudia Hill and Ali Kinsey for supporting.